[Home] [Real Estate] [Business Tax Receipt] [Tourist Development] [Tags & Registration] [Driver Licenses]
[Hunting and Fishing] [Vessel Registration] [Forms] [Calendar] [Links] [On Line Payments]

 

Click on the following links for Information:

Driver Licenses 

Driver License Services

Requirements for a Florida Drive License, or Florida ID card

Renewal Information

Lost Florida Driver License or Lost Florida ID Card

Identification documents required for the Florida driver license or ID card 

Name Change\Address Change

Motorcycle Endorsement

 

Driver Licenses

Driver License services are provided by the Taylor County Tax Collector's Office. Our Drivers License Branch office is located at 2275 US 19 North.  Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 - 5:00. The following is a list of the Driver License Services we provide. For answers to more specific questions please call us at 850-584-2089, or e-mail us at: d72office@flhsmv.gov

Driver License Services    

  • ORIGINALS
  • DUPLICATE/REPLACEMENT
  • RENEWALS
  • SUSPENSION CLEARANCES
  • FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY CLEARANCE
  • ROAD TEST
  • WRITTEN TEST
 

You can renew your driver license online at gorenew.com

 

Requirements for a Florida Drive License, or Florida ID card  

Original Operator Driver License - Transfer from Out of State... 
  • Original Operator Driver License - Transfer From Out of State
  • Two forms of identification, a primary and secondary, as described in information that follows. The names MUST match exactly ie. Your out of state driver license and social security card.
  • Two prrofs of residence address.
  • If your name has changed since your birth certificate, you will have to provide proof to connect the name change. (Example: marriage certificate, court order, etc.)
  • Vision test, with or without corrective lenses, to meet acuity of 20/40.
  • Hearing test.
  • Driver License Fee $ 54.25  (ID Card Fee $ 31.25)  
  • Proof of Social Security number is required.

  

Original Operator Driver License... 

First Time - Age 15 or Older      

  • 2 forms of identification, a primary and secondary, as described in information that follows. The names MUST match exactly.
  • 2 Proofs of Residence address
  • Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE). This course is provided by outside companies, and can be located by looking in the phone book yellow pages, under Driver Instruction. Driver Education Students may have a form, that will meet this requirement, from their school.
  • Anyone under age 18 will need a parent with them to sign a Parental Consent Form. This can only be done by a Natural Parent. If there is a Guardianship, bring a Certified Copy of Court Documents, showing there is Court Appointed Guardian.
  • A written test is required, which includes 20 questions of road rules, and 20 questions of road signs. The test may be waived for Driver Education Students, with proper documentation from their school.
  • Proof of Social Security number is required.
  • Fee $54.25

Original Commercial Driver License (CDL)... 

Transfer From Out of State     

  • Two forms of identification, a primary and secondary, as described on the list that follows. The names MUST match exactly. Commercial Driver License Operators are required to present a Social Security Card for issuance of a Florida CDL.
  • If your name has changed since your birth certificate, you will have to provide proof to connect the name change. (Example: marriage certificate, court order, etc.)
  • Vision test, with or without corrective lenses to meet acuity of 20/40.
  • Hearing test.
  • Hazardous Materials Test is required. All other tests and endorsements are reciprocated.
  • License Fee $ 81.25 + $ 7.00 per endorsement
  • Must be 18 years of age to qualify for Intrastate CDL.
  • Must be 21 years of age to qualify for Interstate CDL.
  • Applicants for hazordous materials must be fingerprinted and have a background check performed at one of the designated offices (Neil Kirkman Building, Tallahassee is the closest office to us).

Renewal Information    

Renewal of Florida Driver License-
Commercial Driver License (CDL) or Florida ID Card
    

  • Proof of Social Security Number.
  • Your expired Driver License or ID card.
  • 2 forms of identification, a primary and a secondary, as described in the list below.
  • Vision Test
  • 2 proofs of residential address
  • Hazardous Materials Test, for CDL, that has an "H" or "X" endorsement.
  • Hazardous Material renewals must also do a fingerprint and background check. (Tallahassee is the closest office to us)
  • Fees: Operator $ 54.25, M/C additional $ 7.00, CDL $ 81.25 + $ 7.00 per endorsement, ID Card $ 31.25

 

Lost Florida Driver License or Lost Florida ID Card     

  • 2 proofs of residential address.
  • One form of identification from the primary list below and proof of social security number. If your name has changed since your birth certificate, you must provide proof to connect the name changes (example: marriage license, court order, etc.)
  • Proof of Social Security Number.

Identification documents required for the Florida driver license or ID card     

PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS

Customers applying for an Original Florida Driver License, or Identification Card (ID Card) MUST present one of the following documents:

  1. United States Birth Certificate (Original or Certified Copy), from County or State Office in charge of holding such records. Birth Certificates from hospitals or other medical institutions are not acceptable.
  2. Valid United States Passport (unexpired)
  3. Alien Registration Receipt Card (Green Card) (Form I551)(unexpired).
  4. Employment Authorization Card, issued by the United States Department of Justice, (Form I688b)(unexpired).
  5. Proof of Non-Immigrant Classification, provided by the U.S. Department of Justice (Form I94)(unexpired) or certificate of naturalization.

SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS

The secondary document may be the original or a certified copy of the following:

  1. School record stating date of birth, which must contain the registrar's signature.
  2. Transcript of the birth record filed with a public officer, charged with the duty of recording certificates.
  3. Baptism Certificate, which shows date of birth and place of baptism.
  4. Family Bible Record or Birth Announcement in a baby book.
  5. Life Insurance Policy on the customers’ life, which has been in force for at least 2 years and has a month, day and year of birth.
  6. Military or military dependent identification card.
  7. Florida or Out of State or out of country driver license, or ID (Valid or Expired).
  8. Florida license record or Identification record.
  9. Selective service registration (Draft Card).
  10. Florida Vehicle Registration Certificate, or out of state registration certificate, if name and date of birth are shown.
  11. Receipt copy of your last Florida Driver License issuance.
  12. Immigration Form I571.
  13. Federal Ford DD214 (Military Record).
  14. Marriage Certificate.
  15. Court Order which includes legal name.
  16. Florida Voter Registration Card, which has been issued in the past 3 years.
  17. Social Security Card or certified receipt from Social Security Administration stating that your social security number is verified as ___ ___ ___.
  18. Parent consent form of minor signed by the responsible adult.

NOTE: Only Certified Copies of Documents are accepted, and ALL documents presented MUST be of the same name. Names that do not match MUST have Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree, or Legal Name Change Ordered by the Court, signed by a Judge, which shows the name from birth to current.

  • All written tests are free the first time ($6.25 service fee once per day), after that, they are $10.00 each plus $6.25 (service fee once per day).  Limit of 2 per day.

  • All driving test (operator and motorcycle) are free the first time ($6.25 service fee once per day), after that, they are $20.00 each plus $6.25 (service fee once per day).  Limit of 1 per day.

Name Change\Address Chance   ; 

  • Your Current License.
  • Legal document to prove your name change
  • One form of identification from primary list
  • Proof of Scoial Security Number
  • 2 proofs of residential address.

Motorcycle Endorsementt

  • Your current lisense
  • One form of identification from primary list
  • Proof of social security number
  • 2 proofs of residential address
  • Fee $ 38.25

Effective 07/01/2008 all applicants for a motorcycle endorsement will be required to complete a motorcycle safety course.